Adrian Padilla (12-J) and Renz Reyes (10-A) are champions of IDeA 2 Invitational!

February 11, 2015
AHS Debaters

(from left) Renz Reyes won the Overall Best Speaker of the Tournament award, while Adrian Padilla won the 2nd Overall Best Speaker award at IDeA 2.
The second Interscholastic Debate Association (IDeA) Invitational for school year 2014-2015 was hosted by UST High School last February 7-8, 2015. Every year, students from high schools all over Metro Manila compete in three invitationals. In the tournament, nearly a hundred debaters from different high schools competed.
The Ateneo High School Debaters won the championship in an impressive fashion. In the Grand Finals, Team AHS C- comprised of Adrian Padilla (12-J) and Renz Reyes (10-A)- defeated strong teams from three other high schools: Immaculate Conception Academy, Miriam College High School, and PAREF Southridge. Padilla and Reyes opposed the motion, “This house believes that states should secure the consent of their people via referenda before intervening in foreign conflicts.” They talked about the need for strong government leaders and military professionals to make unpopular decisions in the name of national security and interest. AHS won the finals on a unanimous decision before three judges.
Team AHS A, comprised of Vinz Ferrer (11-O) and Drico Ramiro (10-A) ended the preliminary rounds as the seventh best team and reached the quarterfinals of the tournament. Team AHS D, comprised of Sam Zabat (9-G) and Hans Gonzalez (9-M) broke as a reserve team, while Team AHS B, comprised of Mon Asuncion (12-G) and Migui Dela Cruz (12-G) also performed very well throughout the competition.
The team also bagged the top individual speaker awards. Reyes won the Overall Best Speaker of the Tournament award, while Padilla won the 2nd Overall Best Speaker award. Their combined scores ranked them as the highest scoring team in the competition.
The moderator of the organization is Mrs. Czari Oliveros-Manlapaz, while the Head Coach is Mr. Mahar Abrera Mangahas. The team was accompanied to the competition by Henry Fernando and Isaac Lee.