Alcañeses & Gonzalez Win Big at DLSU College Debate Tourney!

August 10, 2015
AHS Debaters

(L-R) Hans Gonzalez of 10-M and Luigi Alcañeses of 11-A
De La Salle University hosted the La Salle Intervarsity (LSIV) from August 7-9, 2015. It was a large and prestigious competition open primarily to college debating teams, but the tournament was also attended by college graduates and high school students. There were 120 debaters overall, with a large majority of current college students. The Ateneo Debaters sent a contingent of seven members to compete in the intervarsity in order to learn and develop their skills further.
Team AHS A, comprised of captain Luigi Alcañeses (11-A) & Hans Gonzalez (10-M) ended the preliminaries ranked as the 15th best team in the 60-team tournament. More impressively, in the elimination rounds, they also eliminated a number of college teams and reached the quarterfinals of the college category. Consequently, the team was recognized at the awarding ceremonies as the Best High School Team of the tournament. Alcañeses was ranked as the top-scoring high school speaker, while Gonzalez was ranked as the third. Lorenzo Lazaro (11-A) & Nicky Solis (11-B) were also awarded as the second best high school team of the tournament, and performed remarkably well against college debaters.
This was the first time in the history of LSIV that high school teams and debaters were awarded for their performance. Incidentally, the College/Main Break category was won by former Ateneo Debaters alumni Atty. Glenn Tuazon of A2003 & Leloy Claudio, PhD of D2003. They were happy to meet the current set of Ateneo Debaters and commended the high school team for continuing the team’s tradition of excellence.
(L-R) Leloy Claudio (D2003), Glenn Tuazon (A2003), Luigi Alcañeses (A2017), Hans Gonzalez (M2018)
Moreover, Ateneo Debater Paulo Valencia (11-N) reached the quarterfinal of the college category with recent AHS graduate Tres Yap (B2015). Valencia was ranked as the second best high school speaker of the tournament. However, due to the rules of the competition, Valencia’s team did not qualify for awarding as a high school team.
The other members of the contingent who deserve recognition are Carlos Tiu (11-A) and Sam Zabat (10-G) who also performed consistently well throughout the competition and received commendations from their judges.
The team extends its thanks to its moderator, Mrs. Fe U. De Jesus, of the English Department. The head coach of the team is Mr. Mahar Abrera Mangahas. The team was trained by coaches Rafa Lapira, Isaac Lee, and Miguel Ventura. Finally, the team wishes to extend its thanks to the Ateneo High School community, especially Dr. Carmela C. Oracion and Ms. Kristine Valdellon, for its unwavering support. The team continues to train and prepare for upcoming competitions.