IndAK is Maximum Groovity 2013 back-to-back champion!

August 29, 2013
Paul Daza; Photos by Gabby Dario, Joe Morabe, Boju Garcia and Jon Bada.

Ateneo de Manila High School’s premier dance troupe, Indayog ng Atenistang Kabataan-  IndAK- is back to back champion of the Maximum Groovity interschool dance competition. Maximum Groovity 9 was held at the Convenarium of Crossroad 77 on August 26, 2013. IndAK beat seven other dance crews in the high school category, winning P50,000.00 cash.  
IndAK’s fierce and athletic performance had the AHS boys donning red, American football uniforms. Judging from the gasps, screams, cheers and squeals they elicited during and after their performance, it was clear that they were the crowd favorite. Having won Maximum Groovity 8 last year (when the high school division was introduced), IndAK was the last school to perform in their division.
The AHS boys who competed for IndAK at Maximum Groovity 9 were Martin Awid, Ken Caliwara, Justine Castillo, Baggi Daquigan, Boju Garcia, Jason Go, AC Medina, Joe Morabe, Paeng Pajaro, Miko Planas, Lawrence Racho, RJ Ramirez, Cyril Sindac, Julian Velasco,  Jao Vinluan, and Anton Fausto, IndAK’s org head. Jon Bada is the moderator. IndAK’s exciting Maximum Groovity piece was choreographed by Xernan Alfonso.     

School year 2013-2014 has been a very triumphant and financially rewarding period for IndAK todate.  Last July, they won first runner-up honors in the first ever Smart Jump In Dance Off competition, winning a cash prize of P150,000.00.  Last May 31, they staged their 11th anniversary concert, Elexio, at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater in the Ateneo Grade School, raising P150,000 for Tulong Dunong.