Tres Yap (12-B), Derrick Ampil (12-L), and Luigi Alcañeses (10-A) are Econ-No-Mix 2015 Debate Champions

February 19, 2015
AHS Debaters

The Ateneo High School Debaters Team has won the Econ-No-Mix 2015 Debate competition. On January 26, February 2, and February 9, the UP Diliman Organization of Business Economics Majors (OBEM) hosted Econ-No-Mix, an interdisciplinary event centered on the theme, “Count Me In: Savings As A Driver For Investment.” The events included a quiz bee, a debate tournament, a poster-making competition, essay writing contest, idea generation competition, and stock trading game.
            For the debate competition, Team AHS A, comprised of Tres Yap (12-B), Derrick Ampil (12-L), and Luigi Alcañeses (10-A) went undefeated and won the grand finals against Team AHS C in an The champions of the 2015 Econ-No-Mix Debate Competition (from left): Derrick Ampil, Luigi Alcañeses, and Tres Yap.all-Ateneo High School final. AHS C was comprised of Mon Asuncion (12-G), Migui Dela Cruz (12-G), and Sam Zabat (9-G). The finals topic was “This house would prevent mergers between retail and merchant banks.” AHS A won on a unanimous 3-0 decision. AHS C unfortunately eliminated AHS B earlier in the competition. AHS B was comprised of Red Nadela (10-A), Albert Tongson (10-A), and Paulo Valencia. Derrick Ampil was awarded as the Best Speaker of the Tournament.
            In the poster-making competition, Louie Sanchez (11-N) and freshman Anton Villamayor used oil-pastel and other artistic media in order to make colorful posters reflecting the theme of the competition. Sanchez’s work was entitled, “The Tree” while Villamayor’s was entitled, “The Big Picture.”
            In the essay-writing competition, Mico Baviera (11-N) and freshman Micco Cruz wrote essays reflecting on the importance of financial literacy in relation to the overall theme of the competition.
            In the quiz bee, Mico Baviera, Lorenzo Lazaro (10-A), and Marcel De Lima (10-A), took individual tests and scored high enough to nearly make the cut for the final eight teams who would go on to battle it out in the team segment of the quiz bee competition. They performed remarkably well considering that none of the three have taken up formal economics lessons in school thus far.
            Overall, the event is considered by the team to be a success, not only because of the individual recognition that students achieved, but because the Ateneo Debaters are slowly learning to expand their skill set and apply their talents in fields other than debate. The moderator of the team is Mrs. Czari Oliveros-Manlapaz; the head coach of the team is Mr. Mahar Abrera Mangahas. The team was accompanied by Henry Fernando, Isaac Lee, and Miguel Ventura throughout the competition.