AHS is PRADA Track and Field Three-Peat champion!

February 26, 2015
Paul Daza


The Ateneo High School Track and Field Team successfully defended its title at the PRADA Athletics tournament for school year 2014-2015, emerging as three-peat champion! All in all, the AHS won a total of three gold medals, five silver medals, and five bronze medals in the day-long competition that took place at the Brent International School in Mamplasan, Laguna last February 14, 2015. Among the schools the AHS defeated were La Salle Greenhills, International School Manila (ISM), Faith Academy, San Beda, Marist, Brent, and De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ).  

Here is the list of medals won by the AHS:

Nigel Ganzon (12L)- Gold, 400m hurdles (59.22 secs.); silver, 110m hurdles (15.56 secs.)
Ardy Mercado (11F)- Gold, shot put (12.42m); silver, discus throw (33.27m)
Renz Bangui (11M)- Gold, 1600m walk (8:51.28)
John Abarrientos (11A)- Silver, long jump (5.63m)
Jiggy Sim (11H)- Silver, javelin throw (38.79m)
Abi Sandalo (11-I)- Silver, 1600m walk (9:29.28)
Anton Cruz (12J)- Bronze, 800m run (2:18.05)
Raniel Santos (11E)- Bronze, long jump (5.32m)
Vince Tumala (12-I)- Bronze, javelin throw (37.56m)
Tobi Sales (12M)- Bronze, 400m (54.78 secs.)
Josh Lidasan (9D)- Bronze, 1600m walk (9:55.38)
And although the video playing at the top of this page clearly shows that the AHS won first place in both the 4x100m relay and the 4x400m relay, the results of these events have not yet been made official by the PRADA officials.  

The members of the AHS track and field team who competed at the PRADA championship are the following:

Michael Teodoro P. Gerochi (9B)
Angelo Rafael B. Bote (9D)
Jose Miguel R. Liban (9D)
Joshua Calyph R. Lidasan (9D)
Felixberto Norman T. Mercado (9D)
Gerard P. Mendoza (9E)
Vincent A. Geraldez  (9I)
Luciano Jose H. Joson (9J)
Alfredo Joaquin C. Bumagat (10D)
Roberto Felix H. Rafael (10E)
Marcus Gabriel W. Tan (10H)
Joshua Raphael I. Bautista (10-I)
Mark Matthew M. Operario (10J)
Juan Jaime O. De La Cruz (10N)
Lorenzo Gabriel R. Jarin (10N)
Hans Benjamin M. Santos (10-O) 
John Angelo S. Abarrientos (11A)
Jose Rafael F. Fernandez  (11A)
Lamberto T. Mercado III (11B)
Raniel Erin B. Santos (11E)
Eric Angelo B. Capinpin (11F)
Roberto Daniel T. Mercado (11F)
Joseph Gabriel C. Sim (11H)
Wilmer E. Embuscado Jr. (11-I)
Marcus Gabriel F. Sandalo (11-I)
James T. Magpoc (11-L)
John Lorenz R. Bangui (11M)
Alfredo Joaquin C. Bumagat (11O)
Manuel Francisco D. Ng (11-O)
Arthur Anthony L. Saulong  (11-O)
Josemaria Antonio T. Manotok II (12C)
Ryan Anthony P. Racela  (12D)
Miguel Nikolas E. Erfe (12E)
Harold Tristan G. Baco (12F)
Carlo Ram M. Ferrer (12H)
Raymond Benjamin I. Rivera (12-I)
Sean Gabriel M. Santos (12-I)
Vince Josef Raymund D. Tumala (12-I)
Antonio Luis Miguel S. Cruz (12J)
Andrew Philip C. Sioson (12J)
Adrian Nigel G. Ganzon (12L)
Jeosiah P. Cainglet (12M)
Renz Fortunato S. Madamba (12M)
Martin Vince C. Martin (12M)
Gabriel Teodoro T. Sales (12M)
They were coached by Igor Quodala and Jok Cobar.