AHS is UAAP Season 78 juniors baseball champion!

February 05, 2016
Paul Daza


The Ateneo de Manila High School baseball team is champion of the UAAP Season 78 juniors baseball tournament, after its win against defending champion De La Salle Santiago Zobel (DLSZ) in the finals last January 31, 2016 at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium. The final score of the 9-inning game was Ateneo-3, DLSZ-2. Three Ateneans also received  trophies for individual achievement at the awards ceremony that followed the game. Manuel Guzman (10-G) received the award for Most Stolen Bases, while Vincent Montero (12-L) received the award for Most RBI (Runners Batted In). Rogelio “Miggy” Angeles (12-K) received the highly coveted award for Most Valuable Player (MVP). From left: Manu Guzman (Most Stolen Bases), Miggy Angeles (MVP), Vince Montero (Most RBI)

The Ateneo High School (AHS) baseball team swept the two rounds of eliminations with a 4-0 record, winning all its games against University of Santo Tomas (UST) and DLSZ. As such, it entered the final against DLSZ with a twice-to-beat advantage.

The Blue Batters last won the UAAP juniors baseball championship three years ago during Season 75 in February 2013. DLSZ won back to back championships in 2014 and 2015 until the AHS Blue Batters foiled the DLSZ Green Batters' bid for a three-peat.       

The members of the AHS UAAP baseball team are Zian Javiel M. Eleria (9-F), Nathan Joseph P. Carpio (10-F), Manuel Alfonso G. Guzman (10-G), Matteo Javier A. Salazar (10-H), Miguel Victor F. Alvaro (10-L), Juan Gabriel A. Angeles (10-L), Peter Andre O. Guinto (11-C), Juan Gabriel L. Cuenco (11-F), Timothy Patrick P. Albert (11-G), Mark Gregor D. Sacramed (11-I), Alfonso Luis C. Estacio (11-M), Raphael Virgilio Roque (11-O), Justin Raphael A. Garcia (12-D), Roque Francisco B. Andaya (12-F), Joaquin Karlo S. Abergas (12-H), Rymer Tomlin R Tionloc (12-H), Javier Ma. Agustin A. Pablo (12-I), Rogelio Miguel A. Angeles (12-K), Vincent Anthony B. Montero (12-L), and Jose Andres E. Gonzales (12-N). 

The team's head coach is Randy Dizer, who is also the baseball program head of Ateneo de Manila University.  The team's assistant coaches are Pepe Jose, Juniper Piñero, and Fedo Olivares.