Ateneo HS is 2013 PRADA volleyball champion!

October 23, 2013
Raphael Santos (4C), Volleyball Team Captain

The Ateneo de Manila High School volleyball team is champion of the Private Schools Athletic Division Association (PRADA) volleyball championship! They won the title after beating San Beda in the semi-finals match that began at 9:30 am on Sunday, October 20, and  trouncing Xavier High School (3-0): 25-21, 25-16, 25-23 in the finals match that began at 12:00 noon on the same day. Both games were played in the volleyball court of Don Bosco, Makati.

The Blue Eaglets had an earlier meeting against Xavier High School in their first game of the elimination round. The Eaglets won the first set only to lose the next three. However, they bounced back from their loss to have a four-game winning streak against International School Manila, Pasig Catholic College, Notre Dame, and Lourdes School of Mandaluyong. These wins earned them a spot in the cross-over semis against San Beda, which was ranked number one in their bracket and PRADA defending champion. The Eaglets managed to defeat the Red Cubs in three straight sets (3-0) and advanced to the finals, where they had their revenge against Xavier and won their sixth pre-UAAP season game, earning them the championship.

The last time the Blue Eaglets won a championship in the PRADA volleyball tournament was over 10 years ago, back in 2002 at the end of a 3-peat (2000-2002). AHS' last finals appearance in a PRADA volleyball tournament was back in 2004.
The members of the 2013-2014 Ateneo High School varsity volleyball team are: Jose Raphael Marco P. Ricafort (1-G), Andrew Chicano (2-D), Ismael Hans D. Samaniego (2-M), Raphael Mari Pierre S. Mallari (3-A), Luis Felipe D. Umpangco (3-A), Gerard Emil V. Bahia (3-C), Lawrence Ignatius L. Luna (3-J), Sebastian Enrique E. Cuerva (3-K), Gian Carlo A. Glorioso (3-M), Anthony Gene M. Sarino (3-N), Johndel Bryant E. Armada (4-B), Lorenzo Trinidad (4-B), Raphael C. Santos (4-C), Anotonio Ignacio D. Yatco III (4-C), Francis Neil I. Gorgonio (4-E), Richmond L. Crisostomo (4-M), and Rafael Enrico V. Paurom (4-M). They are coached by Timmy Sto.Tomas.

The Ateneo de Manila High School Volleyball team would like to thank their sponsor, Lily’s Peanut Butter, for the support they extended in helping the team win the championship.