Ateneo HS Aspirants A is St. Ignatius Cup Football Festival Champion!

September 12, 2014
Paul Daza; Photo courtesy of JP Vicente

Front row, from left: Olin Paurom (10-D), Jaime Tanjangco (10-D), Diego San Pedro (10-L), Sancho Vicente (10-F), Iñigo Bautista (9-J), Jenlord Barcelona (9-D), Jonathan Talbot (10-L), and Vinnie Vincluado (9-H). Back row, from left: Coach Jerry Sinsoy, Wazzo Santillan (9-C), Ching Paurom (9-C), Joaquin Roque (10-H), Carlo Alilam (11-G), Gavin Rosario (10-D), Jack Figueroa (10-H), Manu Cruel (10-C), Joaqui Bernardo (9-E), Ayrton Arteficio (10-A), Gio Bongolan (9-E), Mio Gorospe (10-A), Coach Ompong Merida. N
Last July 12, the Ateneo de Manila High School Aspirants A Football Team emerged as champion of the St. Ignatius Cup Festival of Football, Aspirants A Division. Making the victory sweeter was the fact that Ateneo’s win came at the expense of FEU-FERN, their arch-rivals in football. The final score was Ateneo-1, FEU-FERN 0. Ateneo’s winning goal was scored via penalty shootout in the game that was held at the Ateneo High School Football Field.
The members of the AHS Aspirants A Football Team are: Ching Paurom (9-C), Wazzo Santillan (9-C), Jenlord Barcelona (9-D), Joaqui Bernardo (9-E), Gio Bongolan (9-E), Vinnie Vincluado (9-H), Iñigo Bautista (9-J), Ayrton Arteficio (10-A), Mio Gorospe (10-A), Manu Cruel (10-C), Olin Paurom (10-D), Gavin Rosario (10-D), Jaime Tanjangco (10-D), Joaquin Gatmaitan (10-E), Sancho Vicente (10-F), Jack Figueroa (10-H), Joaquin Roque (10-H), Diego San Pedro (10-L), Jonathan Talbot (10-L), and Carlo Alilam (11-G). They are coached by Ompong Merida and Jerry Sinsoy.
The St. Ignatius Cup Festival of Football was organized by the Ateneo Football Program through Robert V. Manlulo under the University Athletics Office headed by Richard N. Palou.