Ateneo HS is back to back champ of PRADA Track & Field championship!

February 14, 2014
Paul Daza; Photo by Enrico Quodala


Ateneo de Manila High School successfully defended its title at the 2014 PRADA Track & Field tournament, emerging as back-to-back champion last Saturday, February 8. Harvesting five gold medals for each of the five events he joined team captain Rabbi B. Villanueva of 4D was the meet's most bemedalled athlete in the junior boiys division. Also noteworthy were the shot put and 1600m walk events, which saw the top three slots all being won by AHS students.  

Here is the AHS Track and Field team’s medal tally:

Shot Put: Gold, Matthew Anthony R. Untalan (4H); Silver, Lamberto T. Mercado III (2B); Bronze, Roberto Daniel T. Mercado (2F)

110 Hurdles: Gold, Rabbi B.Villanueva (4D); Bronze,  James T. Magpoc ( 2L)

Long Jump: Gold, Henry B. Gonzales (4H); Silver, Vince Josef Raymund D. Tumala (3-I)

Triple Jump: Bronze, Henry B. Gonzales (4H)

Discus: Gold, Ye Kwon Lee (4H)

400m Dash: Gold, Rabbi B. Villanueva (4D); Silver, Andrew Philip C. Sioson (3J)

4x100m Relay: Gold, with a time of 45.69 seconds: Vince Josef Raymund D. Tumala (3-I),   Rabbi B. Villanueva (4D), Henry B. Gonzales (4H), Juan Paulo B. Macasaet (4D)

Javelin: Gold, Antonio Mari S. Villarin (4H); Bronze, Vince Josef Raymund D. Tumala (3-I)

400m Hurdles: Bronze, Adrian Nigel G. Ganzon (3L)

High Jump: Silver,  Leo Nestor S. Valera (4F); Bronze, Henry B. Gonzales (4H)

200m Dash: Gold, Rabbi B.Villanueva (4D); Silver, Juan Paulo B. Macasaet (4D)

1500m Run: Silver, Jose Enrique B. Gomez (4K)

4x400m Relay: Gold, with a time of 3:49.81: Segis Quintin R. Borja (4D), Gabriel Teodoro T. Sales (3M), Andrew Philip C. Sioson (3J), Rabbi B. Villanueva (4D)

1600m Walk: Gold, John Lorenzo R. Bangui (2M); Silver, Marcus Gabriel F. Sandalo; Bronze, Alfonso Luis B. Villarosa (4H)
The 20414 PRADA Track and Field championship was held at Brent Campus in Mamplasan, Laguna. The other schools that participated in the junior boys category were Xavier, La Salle Greenhills, San Beda, Pasig Catholic College and Brent.