Ateneo HS guaranteed 3rd place in UAAP 77 volleyball tournament

September 26, 2014
Paul Daza; Photos by Marco Ricafort and Dondi Nolasco

From left: Basti Cuerva, Marco Ricafort, Chu Njigha, Raphe Mallari, AG Sarino, Hans Samaniego, Gio Bahia, Joaquin Divino, Luis Umpangco, Andrew Chicano, Gian Glorioso, Carlo dela Peña, Paolo Salomon, Luigi Luna.
Ateneo de Manila High School’s volleyball team is now guaranteed at least 3rd place in the UAAP Season 77 Juniors Volleyball tournament, after beating University of Santo Tomas (UST) in straight sets at the do-or-die semi-finals game held last September 24, 2014. Video of the game can be viewed at the top of this page.
Following a stunning, come-from-behind win over National University (NU) last September 7, Ateneo was tied for #2 with NU towards the end of round two, while UST was ranked #4. (Eleven-peat seeking University of the East is #1.)  One week later, however, in the round two match played on September 14, Ateneo lost to UST in straight sets, forcing a semi-finals  match between the two schools (Ateneo won over UST in their round one game last August 16.) on September 24.
To make it to the finals, Ateneo must defeat twice-to-beat NU in the stepladder semis, the first game of which is scheduled for September 28, 2014 12:00 pm at the Adamson University volleyball court.

Last year, the Ateneo HS Volleyball Team finished 3rd in the UAAP Season 76 Juniors Volleyball championship.
The members of the current Ateneo High School volleyball team are:
1.  Raphael Mari Pierre Mallari (12-A)
2.  Luis Felipe Umpangco (12-A)
3.  Paolo Nicolas Salomon (12-B)
4. Gerard Emil Bahia (12-C)
5. Lawrence Ignatius Luna (12-J)
6. Sebastian Enrique Cuerva (12-K)
7. Gian Carlo Glorioso (12-M)
8.  Anthony Gene Sarino (12-O)
9. Chumason Celestine Njigha (11-D)
10.  Andrew Chicano (11-D)
11.  Ismael Hans Samaniego (11-M)
12.  Carlo Gabriel Dela Peña (11-N)
13.  Jose Raphael Marco Ricafort (10-N)
14.  Joaquin Marcelo Divino (10-O)
They are coached by Timmy Sto. Tomas.

The Ateneo High School UAAP Season 77 Volleyball Team. Photo by Dondi Nolasco.