Batungbacal, Taleon, and Castor help NCR win Palaro 10-PEAT!

May 13, 2014
Paul Daza; photos from Palarong Pambansa 2014 Facebook Page

Back row, from left: AHS swimmers Joshua Taleon and Aldo Batungbacal- silver medalist and gold medalist, respectively- of the 200m breaststroke (secondary boys division) at Palarong Pambansa 2014. Competing under the banner of the National Capital Region (NCR), three Ateneo de Manila High School students- Aldo Batungbacal, Nestor Castor Jr. and Joshua Taleon- contributed to the medal haul of the NCR at Palarong Pambansa 2014, helping the NCR win its 10th consecutive Palaro crown. With 107 gold medals, 64 silver medals, and 56 bronze medals harvested, Team NCR emerged as 10-peat champion of Palarong Pambansa 2014, which was held from May 4 to 10 in Santa Cruz, Laguna.
Of the three Ateneans who competed in the secondary boys division, swimmer Aldo Batungbacal of C2014 won the most medals. His haul of four medals consists of two gold medals for the 200m breaststroke and the 4x100m medley relay, and two silver medals for the 4x50m freestyle relay and the 100m breaststroke.
Fellow swimmer Joshua Taleon of M2017, on the other hand, won two medals. He was part of the NCR quartet that won a gold medal in the 4x50m medley relay event. He also won a silver medal in the 200m breaststroke behind gold medalist Also Batungbacal. Last September, Taleon won the coveted Rookie of the Year award at the UAAP Season 76 Swimming Championship.
Last but not least, Nestor Castor Jr. of A2014 won a silver medal in the Palarong Nestor Castor Jr. won a silver medal in the pole vault event at Palarong Pambansa 2014. This file photo of Nestor was taken in December 2013 by Mark Operario. Pambansa secondary boys pole vault. Last December, Castor won the gold medal for the same event at the UAAP Season 76 Track & Field Championship.  
Of the three AHS student athletes who won medals for the NCR at Palaro 2014, only Batungbacal was a Palaro veteran. Last year, he won four gold medals and one silver medal in various secondary boys swimming events.