Eaglets end NU's 22-game winning streak, finish round one of UAAP 77 jrs. basketball with 7-0 record!

December 22, 2014
Paul Daza from web reports; Photos by Philip Sison and Gil V. Salandanan.

Photo by Philip Sison.

As reported by Reuben Terrado of Spin.ph, Ateneo de Manila High School “…ended reigning champion National University’s 22-game winning streak with a 66-64 victory on Saturday (December 20) at the end of the first round of the UAAP Season 77 juniors basketball tournament at the Blue Eagle Gym. The Blue Eaglets finished the first round with a clean 7-0 record while handing the Bullpups their first loss since dropping the championship series against Far Eastern University-Diliman in 2012.”
Rivals.ph reports that the game would have gone into overtime were it not for Mike Nieto scoring “…a lay-up off Justine Baltazar to shatter the game’s last deadlock at 64-64 in the final 2.5 seconds.”
The UAAP Season 77 juniors basketball first round standings are as follows: The Eaglets after their victory against UE on December 17, 2014. Photo by Gil V. Salandanan.
1. Ateneo (7-0 record)
2. NU (6-1)
3. DLSZ (5-2)
4. FEU-D (4-3)
5. AdU (3-4)
6. UST (2-5)
7. UP (1-6)
8. UE (0-7)

Here are the scores for the Blue Eaglets’ round one games:

Nov. 29- against DLSZ, 68-57
Dec. 3-  UST,  82-70 (with video highlights playing at the top of this page)
Dec. 6-  FEU, 76-73 OT
Dec. 10- UP, 87-65
Dec. 13-  Adamson, 75-66 (with video highlights at the top of this page)
Dec. 17-  UE, 84-60 
Dec. 20-  NU, 66-64

This year’s Blue Eaglets are Carlos Gatmaytan (10-H), Bryan Andrade (11-D), Zach Bernardo (11-J), Jossier Hassan (11-J), Shaun Ildefonso (11-D), Enzo Joson (11-H), Gian Mamuyac (11-G), Jolo Mendoza (11-L), Justin Eustaquio (11-M), Alfonso Rosales (11-M), Mike Nieto (12-E), Matt Nieto (12-F), Marc Salandanan (12-I), and Miguel Ramos (12-L).  
Their head coach is Joe Silva.