UAAP 77 Boys' Volleyball: Ateneo's record is currently 2-1

August 06, 2014
Paul Daza; Photos by Dondi Nolasco

Gian Glorioso (left) and Basti Cuerva (right) block UPIS.

Three games into the UAAP Season 77 Junior Boys Volleyball championship, Ateneo de Manila’s win-loss record is 2-1. The Eaglet Spikers won the first game of the season, which was against UPIS, last July 29. The Ateneo High School boys volleyball team defeated UP Integrated School in straight sets, 25-14, 25-13, 25-13 at the Adamson Gym.
Last July 27, the Blue-and-White lost to UE, 13-25, 17-25, 14-25. UE is nine-peat defending champion of UAAP Season 77 Junior Boys Volleyball.
Last Sunday, August 3, Ateneo beat De La Salle Santiago Zobel (DLSZ) in straight sets, 25 - 16, 25 - 16, 25 - 21(watch the video at the top of this page). The game was also played at Adamson University, beginning at 8:00 am and ending at 9:10am.
The AHS volleyball team’s next game will be on Saturday, August 9, and will be against Far Eastern University. It will begin at 9am and will be held at Adamson University.
The members of the Ateneo High School boys volleyball team are:
1.  Raphael Mari Pierre Mallari (12-A)
2.  Luis Felipe Umpangco (12-A)
3.  Paolo Nicolas Salomon (12-B)
4. Gerard Emil Bahia (12-C)
5. Lawrence Ignatius Luna (12-J)
6. Sebastian Enrique Cuerva (12-K)
7. Gian Carlo Glorioso (12-M)
8.  Anthony Gene Sarino (12-O)
9. Chumason Celestine Njigha (11-D)
10.  Andrew Chicano (11-D)
11.  Ismael Hans Samaniego (11-M)
12.  Carlo Gabriel Dela Pena (11-N)
13.  Jose Raphael Marco Ricafort (10-N)
14.  Joaquin Marcelo Divino (10-O)
They are coached by Timmy Sto. Tomas.