Ateneans Bag Award in 1st Renewable Energy (RE) Tilt

February 04, 2016

A team of 5 Engineering students was awarded the Runner-up title in the 2015 Sikat Design Challenge for their project Tanglaw, a pico-hydroelectric generator that can provide lighting to households in off-grid areas. Sikat Challenge is an inter-university competition on RE for rural communities. The awarding ceremony was held on February 2, 2016 at Loft@Manansala Tower, Rockwell Center.

The team members are 5th year BS ECE students: Grant Joseph Culala, Giulio Obviar, Marc Joseph Macalinao, Paul Anthony Lorenzo, Raymark Parocha, and their faculty adviser is Dr. Erees Queen Macabebe.
Congrats, Team Ateneo Agilas!

With the team are Chief Judge Prof Teddy Puttgen, senior director of Energy Research Institute at Nanyang Technological University (ERIN), Federico Lopez, chair, Sikat Solar Challenge Foundation, Inc., Dr. Arthur De Guia, president, SSCFI and Henry Co, vice president, SSCFI.