PH bags another gold in IMO 2018

July 26, 2018

ALL SIX contestants from our delegation to the 59th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO)
on July 3-14, 2018 in Cluj-Napoca, Romania brought home individual awards, one of which is
the THIRD GOLD MEDAL for the Philippines won by Albert John Patupat. Below are the list of
winners from the Philippines:
Gold Medal - ALBERT JOHN PATUPAT (DLSU Integrated School)
Silver Medal - KYLE PATRICK DULAY (Philippine Science High School-Main Campus)
Bronze Medal - EMMANUEL OSBERT CAJAYON (Emilio Aguinaldo College)
Bronze Medal - SHAQUILLE WYAN QUE (Grace Christian College)
Honorable Mention - ANDRES RICO GONZALES (DLSU Integrated School)
Honorable Mention - SEAN ANDERSON TY (Zamboanga Chong Hua High School)
Patupat snatched the third gold medal for the Philippines in Romania following the two gold
medal feat in IMO 2016 in Hong Kong.
Out of 107 countries with 594 contestants in IMO 2018, Philippines was ranked at 38 this year
(from rank 17 in 2016 and in 2017).
The contestants were accompanied by their Team Leader Dr. Richard Eden and Deputy Team
Leader Dr. Christian Paul Chan Shio, Assistant Professors of the Mathematics Department of
Ateneo de Manila University, and Trainer Mr. Carlo Francisco Adajar of University of the
Philippines Diliman.
Dr. Job Nable and Dr. Timothy Teng, Assistant Professors of AdMU Mathematics Department
were also part of the training team.
The International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) is the annual World Championship Mathematics
Competition for Pre-college students.
The country's participation is a project of the Mathematical Society of the Philippines and the
DOST - Science Education Institute.
Philippines first joined the International Mathematics Olympiad in 1988 with the late Dr. Jose
Marasigan, also from AdMU Mathematics Department, as the Philippine Team Leader. Since
then, other faculty members from the department were involved as Team Leaders and Trainers
for the Philippine delegation.
Congratulations to the winners and to the whole team!