Ateneans Bag Journalism Research Awards

May 08, 2019

A group of AB Communication senior students won top prizes at the 2019 Asian Journalism Research Conference (AJRC) at the University of the Philippines last April.

AB COM seniors pose with their certificates of recognition. From L-R: Dr. Rachel Khan, Chair of the Department of Journalism, UP College of Mass Communication; Angelie Payuyo, Leian Adriatico, Julieanne Tabilog, Loreben Tuquero, Soleil Luna; and Kara David, Master of Ceremonies

Leian Adriatico, Angelie Payuyo, and Julieanne Tabilog won the award for Best Academic Research for their thesis: “Drawing the Days of Duterte: A Discourse Analysis on Editorial Cartoons on Extrajudicial Killings Published by the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of the Philippines in the Time of the Duterte Administration”.

Soleil Luna and Loreben Tuquero won the award for Best Journalism Special Project for their thesis: “Tambay, Takbo: An Interactive Multimedia Approach in Narrating the Experiences of Minor Loiterers During the Duterte Administration’s Anti-Tambay Crackdown and its Overlaps with Existing Rescue Operations.”

Both thesis groups were supervised by Dr. Inez Ponce de Leon, assistant professor at the Department of Communication.

The winners were awarded the Chit Estella Memorial Awards. The Chit Estella Memorial Awards is a student research competition which aims to promote journalism research among undergraduate students. The award is named after veteran journalist Chit Estella Simbulan, and is given in collaboration with VERA Files and the Simbulan family. This year’s AJRC was held on April 12 at the College of Mass Communication, UP Diliman.