Book on Outstanding Filipino Psychologists Launched

November 30, 2012

In celebration of its 50th year, the Psychological Association of the Philippines (PAP) launched, last 1 December 2012 at the PSSC, the book 50 years of the Psychological Association of the Philippines: Milestones, Inspirations and Aspirations, edited by Dr Gina Hechanova, Dr Allan Bernardo, and Jay Yacat. The book features the milestones of Philippine psychology and presents the profiles of 50 leading Filipino psychologists who have shaped the field. Eleven of the 50 are from Ateneo:

Fr Jaime Bulatao, founder of the Psychology Department, ADMU, and cofounder of the PAP

Fr Cha Inzon, PhD in Social Psychology, ADMU; former Director of the Peace and Research Center; current President of the Notre Dame of Jolo College

Dr Carmela Ortigas, recognized for her books and founder of the Ateneo Human Resources Center, now known as the Ateneo Center for Organization Research and Development (CORD)

Dr Gina Hechanova, Psychology Department and current CORD Executive Director; Outstanding Faculty (UP, 1996), Outstanding Young Scientist (NAST, 2005), and one of The Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service (2010); author of For the People, With the People: Developing Social Enterprises in the Philippines, winner of the Cardinal Sin Book Award in 2010

Dr Emy Liwag, retired Associate Professor of Psychology, ADMU; Outstanding Alumni of the Philippine Science High School; Outstanding Teacher (1998); Outstanding Young Scientist awarded by NAST in 1998

Dr Queena Lee Chua, PhD in Clinical Psychology, ADMU; recipient of, among other awards, Outstanding Young Scientist, Outstanding Women in the Nation's Service, National Book Awards, and Metrobank Outstanding Teacher Award

Dr Lunette Mendoza, MA in Social and Community Psychology, ADMU, and faculty member, Ateneo de Naga University; recipient of the Fr. Jaime Bulatao Award for Teaching, PAP 2010

Dr Cristina Montiel, Professor of Psychology, ADMU; recipient of the 2010 Ralph White LIfetime Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association Peace Psychology Division.

Dr Lourdes Carandang, former faculty, Department of Psychology, ADMU; named National Social Scientist by the Philippine Social Science Council (1995); Outstanding Psychologist, PAP 1988, for her research, mentoring, and extension work on Filipino children and their families

Dr Allen Tan, former faculty, Department of Psychology, ADMU; PAP president; editor of the Philippine Journal of Psychology for more than 10 years; Outstanding Psychologist, PAP 1995

Dr Patricia Licuanan, former faculty, Department of Psychology, and Academic Vice President, ADMU; former President, Miriam College; current Chair of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED); Outstanding Psychologist, PAP