13 ASHS mathletes help Ateneo de Manila win ‘Most Outstanding School’ award in BBB Math Olympiad heat round

January 07, 2021

Thirteen Ateneo de Manila Senior High School mathletes were among the best performing participants in the Senior Secondary Group division of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Area Big Bay Bei (BBB) Mathematical Olympiad Philippines Heat Round, which was conducted online on December 6, 2020.
Leading the awardees were Deanne Algenio (11-Borja), Jimbo Bernardo (11-San Vitores), Marion De Leon (12-Pro), and Kelgie Ong (12-Pantalia), who each won the gold award and the Golden Cup as well. The Golden Cup is given only to mathletes who have won three consecutive gold medals in the Hong Kong International Mathematical Olympiad (HKIMO), the Thailand International Mathematical Olympiad (TIMO), and the Big Bay Bei (BBB) Math Olympiad.

Also winning gold awards were Sophia Algenio (12-Acquaviva) and Brian Dela Cruz (12-Navarro). Taking the silver award were Chryss Bersabal (11-Realino), Aaron Cacas (12-Navarro), Kyle Xander Co (11-Perez), Marin De Leon (11-Realino), Ninna Rivera (12-Oldcorne), and Harvey Allen Ylanan (11-Torres). Bagging the bronze award was Marcus Tornea (11-Wright).    

Ateneo de Manila University was also named Most Outstanding School of the BBB Philippines heat round, thanks to the combined efforts of the 21 mathletes from the Basic Education Unit (six from AGS, two from AJHS, 13 from ASHS) who won a total of eight Golden Cups, ten golds, seven silvers, and four bronzes.
The BBB Philippines heat round virtual awarding ceremony was held online on December 19, 2020.