7 ASHS mathletes win gold award in HKIMO heat round

August 22, 2020
Ateneo de Manila Senior High School

Eleven ASHS students won medal awards in the Senior Secondary Group division of the 2020 Hong Kong International Mathematical Olympiad (HKIMO) heat round. Of these 11 mathletes, seven won the gold award, namely Deanne Algenio (11-Borja), Sophia Algenio (12-Acquaviva), Jimbo Bernardo (11-San Vitores), Brian Dela Cruz (12-Navarro), Marion Abbygail De Leon (12-Pro), Kelgie Ong (12-Pantalia), and Marvin Tan (11-Perez). Taking the silver award was Mary June San Jose (11-Wright). Bagging bronze awards were Marin Catherine De Leon (11-Realino), Marielle Llenado (12-Carvalho), and Ninna Rivera (12-Oldcorne). 

Following the release of the HKIMO 2020 heat round results on July 6, HKIMO-Philippines ranked Ateneo de Manila as the #1 Outstanding School thanks to the combined efforts of the 17 Ateneans from the Basic Education Unit who won a total of 10 golds, two silvers, four bronzes, and one merit award during the competition. Twenty-two countries participated in the HKIMO heat round. 

11 ASHS mathletes won awards at the 2020 HKIMO heat round