8 ASHS mathletes help Ateneo de Manila win ‘Most Outstanding School’ award

January 10, 2022

Eight Ateneo de Manila Senior High School mathletes were among the best performing participants in the senior secondary division of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Area Big Bay Bei (BBB) Mathematical Olympiad Philippines Heat Round, which was conducted online on December 5, 2021. Winning 1st prize/ gold awards were R-Jahn Artates (11-Tsuji), Jimbo Bernardo (12-Pro), Kyle Xander Co (12-Oldcorne), Marin De Leon (12-Pantalia), Sophia Lee (11-Wright), and Cassidy Tan (11-Moscoso). Taking 3rd prize/bronze awards were Nathan Batnag (11-Perez) and Maica Chua (11-Moscoso).

Ateneo de Manila University was also named the BBB Heat Philippine Heat Round’s “Most Outstanding School,” thanks to its award haul of seven golds and four bronzes courtesy of one mathlete from Ateneo de Manila Grade School, two mathletes from Ateneo de Manila Junior High School, and our eight mathletes from Ateneo de Manila Senior High School.

Big Bay Bei highlights the importance of mathematics education and honors the brilliance of young mathematicians from all over the world. It is an annual international Olympiad hosted and organized by Olympiad Champion Education Centre (OCEC), in partnership with Math Olympiad’s Training League, Inc. (MOTLI).