Ang, Abiera & Bejarin are national debate champs!

September 09, 2021

Comprised of Ateneo de Manila Senior High School debaters Naomi Ang (12-Miki), Anton Abiera (12-Bobola), & David Bejarin (12-Grodecky), ASHS A emerged as national champion of the prestigious National Asians High School Debating Championship 2021, besting teams from all over the Philippines. 
Prior to sweeping the tournament and bagging the championship, ASHS A was named the Top Open Break, ranking first in the tournament after the preliminary rounds.
All three members of ASHS A garnered individual speaker awards as well. Ang was named Overall Best Speaker and Open Finals Best Speaker, Abiera 2nd Best Open Speaker, and Bejarin 4th Best Open Speaker.


Marcus Flores

Another ASHS debater, Marcus Flores (12-Miki) of ASHS D, was also recognized as the debate’s 9th Best Novice Speaker.
The National Asians High School Debating Championship 2021 was organized by the La Salle Debate Society and held on August 21-22 and 28-29, 2021.