Ateneo SHS is back-to-back champ of Fast Forward debate

May 07, 2019
ASHS Debaters

(L-R) Matthew Varona, Carlo Pastor, and CJ Carlos
The team comprised of recent Ateneo Senior High School graduates CJ Carlos, Carlo Pastor, and Matthew Varona emerged as open category grand champion of the Fast Forward debate competition last April 29, 2019. In addition, Matthew Varona was also adjudged Finals Best Speaker and Overall Best Speaker. Meanwhile, Carlo Pastor and David Africa were named 3rd Best Speakers while CJ Carlos was named 6th Best Speaker. This marks the second consecutive year that ASHS has won Fast Forward. It is also the second consecutive year that an ASHS debater has swept the championship, the overall best speaker award, and the finals best speaker award. Fast Forward 2019 was held from April 27 to 29, 2019, at the UP School of Economics Auditorium in UP Diliman, Quezon City.