Ateneo SHS is back-to-back champion of NASHDC debate

May 15, 2019
ASHS Debaters

(L-R) Carlo Pastor, Bea Legaspi, & Matthew Varona are champions of NASHDC 2019.

The team comprised of recent Ateneo de Manila Senior High School graduates Carlo Pastor of 12-Xavier, Bea Legaspi of 12-Evans, & Matthew Varona of 12-Kibe emerged as champion of the National Asians High School Debate Championship (NASHDC) held last May 11, 2019. In addition, Pastor clinched the Finals Best Speaker award and was also named 5th Best Speaker. Legaspi was named 3rd Best Speaker, Varona was named 8th Best Speaker, and incoming Ateneo SHS grade 12 student Kara Angan was named 9th Best Speaker.

Kara Angan (center) was named 9th Best Speaker of NASHDC. She is flanked in the photo by NASHDC teammates Luis Amatong (left) and Marc Marquez (right).

This win marks the second year in a row that ASHS has won the tournament, which debaters refer to as “the nationals.” NASHDC 2019 was held at De La Salle University from May 8 - 11, 2019.