Ateneo SHS Debaters Bag Top Three Speaker Awards in IDeA 1; Renz Reyes is IDeA's Overall Best Speaker for 5th Time

December 12, 2016
ASHS Debaters, BE News

The Ateneo Debaters bagged the three highest individual speaker awards in the First Interscholastic Debaters Association (IDeA) Invitational of the 2016-2017 season. Renz Reyes (12-A) came in as 1st Overall Best Speaker, Luigi Alcañeses (12-A) came in as 2nd Overall Best Speaker, while Hans Gonzalez (11-Hoyos) came in as the 3rd Overall Best Speaker. Paulo Valencia (12-N) came in as the 5th Best Speaker Overall. Individual speaker scores are determined by the total individual speaker points acquired by each debater after three preliminary rounds of British Parliamentary Debate.

From left: Luigi Alcañeses and Renz Reyes
Of particular note is the achievement of Renz Reyes, who now moves on to be only the second person in IDeA’s thirty year history to win a 1st Overall Best Speaker Award in each of IDeA’s three annual invitationals (IDeA 1, 2, and 3). Reyes also holds the second spot in the all-time list of most IDeA Overall Best Speaker Awards (IDeA 1 twice, IDeA 2, IDeA 3, and IDeA Grands Overall Best Speaker Of the Year). AHS alumnus Leloy Claudio (AHS D 2003) holds the record with nine.
The team of Gonzalez & Valencia (ASHS B) came in as runners-up in the Grand Final, coming in behind the International School of Manila. Team ASHS A, comprised of Reyes & Alcañeses, broke as the top-seeded team after three preliminary rounds. They were undefeated and finished with a perfect record of 9 points. Reyes & Alcañeses reached the semifinals of the tournament. ASHS D, comprised of Carlos Tiu (12-A) & Nicole Masagca (11-Chabanel) reached the semifinals as well. Team AJHS A, comprised of Matti Tan (10-Mayer) & David Africa (10-Mayer) were the sole AJHS team that broke into the elimination rounds, and reached the quarterfinals of the tournament. Finally, teams ASHS C (Julia Ocoma of 11-Favre & Red Nadela of 12-A) and ASHS E (Nicky Solis of 12-B & Ervin Grana of 12-L) reached the Pre-Quarterfinals stage of the tournament. ASHS as an institution competed excellently and was the only institution in the competition to have all of its teams break into the elimination rounds.
AJHS was also very well-represented, with younger members showing strong performances and promising potential for the future. They were represented by AJHS B (Matthew Mercado of 10-Southwell & Ryan Oquiza of 10-Owen), AJHS C (Gabe Apostol of 10-Mayer & Yuan Ordones of 10-Pignatelli), AJHS D (Benj Dy Quiangco of 10-Mayer & Javy Pineda of 10-Owen), and AJHS E (Carlo Pastor of 10-Mayer & Matthew Varona of 10-Mayer).
The moderators of the team are Mrs. Fe U. De Jesus of ASHS and Mr. Joel Falgui of AJHS. The teams are coached by Miguel Ventura, Mahar Abrera Mangahas, Isaac Lee, Tres Yap, and Henry Fernando. With the final tournament of 2016 over, the team looks to train and work hard over the Christmas Break in preparation for a slew of tournaments coming in early 2017.