Ateneo SHS programming team wins DISCS tilt

March 04, 2020

From left: Mr. Vernon Gutierrez (DISCS PrO Director), Dion Ong, Mr. Victor Tanedo (the coach and Grade 12 Empowerment Technology teacher of our students), Bryant Que, and Brian Dela Cruz.

Composed of Ateneo Senior High School (ASHS) students Brian Dela Cruz (11-Nakaura), Dion Ong (12-Pro), and Bryant Que (12-Ogilvie), the “Space Walker” computer programming team won the Top Senior High School Team award in the 2020 Department of Information Systems and Computer Science (DISCS) Programming Open (PrO). Team Space Walker solved 4 out of the 9 problems posed to it and also collected the P4,500 prize. The DISCS PrO was held at Ateneo de Manila University’s Faura Hall on February 29, 2020, with seven participating teams in the High School Division.