CJ Carlos is PSDC's Overall Best Speaker of the Philippines

January 21, 2019
ASHS Debate Organization and Varsity

David Africa & CJ CarlosThe team composed of ADMU-SHS debaters CJ Carlos (STEM/12-Sullivan) & David Africa (STEM/12-Xavier) is a National Finalist of the Philippine Schools Debating Championship held at Ateneo de Manila University last January 10-13, 2019. This marks the 7th straight appearance of an Ateneo team in the national finals. Individually, Carlos clinched the title of Overall Best Speaker of the Philippines. Africa was also recognized as the 2nd Best Speaker of the Philippines.    

The team of Marc Marquez (STEM/11-Realino) & Luis Amatong (HUMSS/11-Mayer) had a spectacular run to Semifinals, bowing out to eventual champions DLSU SHS and finalists DLSZ. Quarterfinalists Bea Legaspi (GA/12-Evans) & Matthew Mercado (ABM/12-Anchieta) and Javy Pineda (GA/12-Grodecky) & Kahee Dhakal (HUMSS/11-Mayer) edged out teams ranking 7th and 21st in breaks, and having outstanding performances in both preliminaries and break rounds. The team of Kara Angan (HUMSS/11-Mayer) & Shawn Tongson (HUMSS/11-Nakaura) broke 8th and ended their run at Octofinals.

Breaking teams Alaine Gosyco (ABM/12-Bobola) & Gabe Apostol (GA/12-Evans) and Matthew Varona (HUMSS/12-Kibe) & Carlo Pastor (STEM/12-Xavier) ranked 25th and 33th respectively with spectacular performances in the preliminaries but were capped, along with the capped reserve break team of Bien Santillan (HUMSS/12-Miki) & Benj Dy Quiangco (ABM/12-Anchieta). The team of Budi Abiera (HUMSS/11-Hoyos) & Carla Elizaga (STEM/12-Xavier) posted a stellar performance until the end of preliminaries.

Eight of nine ADMU-SHS teams broke into the Finals Series of the tournament, becoming the institution with the most breaking teams and the only school to be affected by the institution cap. The ASHS debaters thank their head coach, Mr. Antonio Miguel Ventura, and the rest of the coaching staff for their time and training leading up to PSDC. They also extend gratitude to ASHS principal Mrs. Maria Victoria Panlilio-Dimalanta; the APSAF headed by Mr. Noel P. Miranda; the Office of Student Activities headed by Mrs. Maria Cecilia Dela Cruz-Lacson; to org moderators, Ms. Myrrh Estolloso and Mr. Ventura; and to their families who have supported them throughout the endeavor.