Gonzalez & Vitug Win IDeA 3 Debate Championship With A Perfect Record

April 10, 2017
ASHS Debaters

(L-R) Hans Gonzalez & Mikko Vitug

The team of Hans Gonzalez (11-Hoyos) & Mikko Vitug (11-Pongracz) emerged as the Grand Champions of the IDeA 3 Debate Invitational in a perfect, undefeated run. The prestigious tournament was held in UP Los Baños from April 8-9, 2017.
In the Grand Final, Gonzalez & Vitug successfully defended the motion “This House Would Abolish The Institution Of Marriage.” They defeated teams from Ateneo Junior High School (comprised of Matti Tan & David Africa, both of 10-Mayer), Xavier School, and La Salle Greenhills. They won on a consensus decision before a panel of five adjudicators.
The Interscholastic Debate Association (IDeA) is a conglomeration of twenty-three private and public schools in Metro Manila. IDeA hosts a number of invitationals every year. Each invitational is comprised of three preliminary rounds, after which the top sixteen teams advance into the break rounds, also known as elimination rounds. In the latter stage, teams are whittled down one by one until a Grand Champion is named.
 What made the run of Gonzalez & Vitug impressive was that they maintained a perfect, undefeated record throughout the tournament. The team was ranked as the top seeded team after the preliminary rounds, and remained undefeated throughout each elimination round—a rare feat in a very competitive debate circuit.
 Other ASHS Debaters excelled in the competition as well. The team of Carlos Tiu (12-A) & Ervin Grana (12-L) reached the Semifinal of the tournament, while the teams of Drico Ramiro (12-A) & JC Cruz (12-L), and Dominic Pamatmat (11-Hoyos) & Nicole Masagca (11-Chabanel) reached the Quarterfinal stage of the tournament. Red Nadela (12-A) & Phil Javellana (12-N) broke as the first reserve team as well.
 The Ateneo Junior High School Debaters also showed their skill and promise despite being the youngest team on average in every competition. The team of Tan & Africa reached the Grand Final, while Matthew Mercado (10-Southwell) & Ryan Oquiza (10-Owen), and Carlo Pastor (10-Mayer) & Gabe Apostol (10-Mayer) reached the Quarterfinal Stage. Finally, Matthew Varona (10-Mayer) & Javy Pineda (10-Owen) also participated and did very well in IDeA 3.
 The ASHS and AJHS Debaters also excelled and dominated the list of individual speaker awards. Carlos Tiu tied as the 1st Overall Best Speaker of the tournament with three others- two debaters from Xavier and one from La Salle Greenhills. It is noteworthy that Tiu’s feat completes another impressive Ateneo Debaters feat: the 1st Overall Best Speakers of each IDeA Invitational have all been from Ateneo High School. These were Nicole Masagca (IDeA Lite), Renz Reyes (IDeA 1), Matti Tan (IDeA 2), and now Carlos Tiu (IDeA 3). Hans Gonzalez, Ervin Grana, and Matti Tan all tied as the 5th Overall Best Speaker. JC Cruz, Drico Ramiro, Mikko Vitug, and Matthew Mercado all tied as the 8th Overall Best Speakers. The Ateneo Debaters, with 8 total ASHS and AJHS Debaters in the Top 10, by far had the most members named among the Top Ten Debaters of the year.
Carlos Tiu
The Ateneo Debaters have performed consistently well in IDeA Invitationals throughout the year, winning championships in IDeA Lite, IDeA 2, and IDeA 3. The team also earned a Grand Finals, runner-up appearance in IDeA 1.

The moderators of the ASHS and AJHS Debaters are Mrs. Fe U. De Jesus, and Mr. Joel Falgui respectively. Both teams extend their gratitude to the ASHS and AJHS administrators for their consistent support for the teams in their endeavors.