Mikko Vitug is crowned PSDC's Overall Best Speaker of the Philippines

January 29, 2018

Mikko Vitug Ateneo Senior High School (ASHS) debater Mikko Vitug (12-Pro) was named Overall Best Speaker of the Philippines in the Philippine Schools Debate Championship (PSDC). Vitug’s win marks the first time since 2012 that an Ateneo Debater has achieved this feat in the prestigious competition. Aside from Vitug, five other ASHS debaters were named among the top 10 speakers of the Philippines. Matti Tan (11-Realino) was named the 2nd Best Speaker, while Hans Gonzalez (12-Miki) and Julia Ocoma tied for 3rd Best Speaker. Similarly, David Africa (11-Tsuji) and Nicole Masagca (12-Gonzalez) tied for 8th Best Speaker of the tournament. 

Mikko Vitug & Hans Gonzalez

Two Ateneo Senior High School teams, ASHS A (Hans Gonzalez & Mikko Vitug) and ASHS C (Matti Tan &Julia Ocoma), reached the National Finals of the competition. In the Grand Final, ASHS A and ASHS C defended the motion, "THR the premium placed on forgiveness," on opening and closing government, respectively, with two teams from Xavier and Southridge on opposition bench. ASHS A and ASHS C ceded the championship to Southridge A on closing opposition.

In addition, ASHS B (David Africa & Nicole Masagca), ASHS D (Dominic Pamatmat & Pep Danguilan), and ASHS E (Matthew Mercado & Carlo Pastor) reached the quarterfinal stage of the tournament. Though ASHS H (Matthew Varona & CJ Carlos) and ASHS I (Bea Legaspi & Miguel Yulo) placed 25th and 26th in the open break, they were barred by the institution cap from competing in the elimination stage. ASHS F (TJ Cruz & Ryan Oquiza) combined for 12 team points to place 39th among all teams.

The PSDC was hosted by the Ateneo Debate Society from January 11-14, 2018 at the Ateneo Grade School’s Singson Hall. One hundred fifty debate teams from all over the country participated in the competition.  

The debaters extend their gratitude to Ms. Amyrrha Estolloso and Mr. Joel Falgui, moderators of the ASHS and AJHS Debaters, respectively. They also thank the ASHS and AJHS administrators for continuing to support the debaters in their various competitions.