Ocoma & Tan are Fast Forward debate champs; Nadela is 1st Best Speaker

April 26, 2017
Von Carolino

Matti Tan & Julia Ocoma
The team of Julia Ocoma (11-Favre) & Matti Tan (10-Mayer) emerged as the grand champion of Fast Forward, a high school advanced debate and adjudication boot camp. The prestigious tournament was hosted by the UP Debate Society at the University of the Philippines in Diliman, Quezon City from April 22-24, 2017. In the Grand Final, Ocoma & Tan successfully opposed the motion on closing, “This house believes that nationalism has no place in the school curriculum.” They won on a 3-1-1 split against a fellow Ateneo Debate team comprised of Hans Gonzalez (11-Hoyos) & Phil Javellana (12-H), and two other teams from Xavier School. In addition, recent Ateneo Senior High School graduate Red Nadela (12-A) was named overall best speaker of the tournament, outranking 112 other participants. Red Nadela
Other Ateneo Debaters excelled in the competition as well. The Ateneo Junior High School (AJHS) team of Carlos Pastor (10-Mayer) & Matthew Varona (10-Mayer), and the composite team of JC Cruz (12-L) & Zhangyi Fan (La Salle Greenhills) reached the semifinal of the tournament. Meanwhile, the AJHS teams of CJ Carlos (10-Mayer) & Johann Claveria (10-Mayer),  Matthew Mercado (10-Southwell) & Ryan Oquiza (10-Owen), and the Ateneo Senior High School (ASHS) team of Luigi Alcañeses (12-A) & Mikko Vitug (11-Pongracz) reached the quarterfinal of the tournament. The teams of Nicky Solis (12-B) & Red Nadela (12-A), Dominic Pamatmat (11-Hoyos) & Javy Pineda (10-Owen) reached the octofinal stage as well.
The debaters extend their gratitude to Mrs. Fe de Jesus and Mr. Joel Falgui, moderators of the ASHS and AJHS Debaters, respectively. They also thank the ASHS and AJHS administrators for continuing to support the debaters in their various competitions.