AteneoHS baseball team is QC champion

December 07, 2018
Nana Guzman; Photo by Marge de la Rosa

(front row from left) Aloi Tuprio, Kean Agcaoili, Joaquin Casanova, Zach Urbina; (back row from left) Zeke Laygo, Matt San Juan, Gabby Mendoza, Ohmid Halabisaz, Joaquin Mendoza, Yuan de la Rosa, Dax Fabella. Not in photo: Marcel Guzman.

Two days after winning the UAAP Season 81 juniors’ baseball crown on December 4, the Ateneo HS baseball team emerged as champion of the Quezon City Baseball Meet on December 6, 2018. Consisting of two boys from Ateneo Junior High School and ten boys from Ateneo Senior High School, team Ateneo will represent Quezon City in the NCR baseball meet in February 2019, where they will vie for the right to represent the NCR in Palarong Pambansa 2019 in Davao. The members of the team are Kean Agcaoili (GA/11-Garnet), Joaquin Casanova (STEM/11-San Vitores), Yuan de la Rosa (GA/11-Fontoura), Dax Fabella (STEM/11-San Vitores), Marcel Guzman (ABM/11-Borja), Ohmid Halabisaz (Pamplona/10-Zuraire), Zeke Laygo (GA/11-De Brito), Gabby Mendoza (Pamplona/9-Sitjar), Joaquin Mendoza (ABM/11-Angelis), Matt San Juan (GA/11-Fontoura), Aloi Tuprio (GA/12-Grodecky), and Zach Urbina (GA/11-Goupil). Their coaches are Randy Dizer, Pepe Jose, and Jun Bonifacio.