Wacky Santos is MVP of UAAP 81 boys' swimming; Tirol and Santos set new records

November 13, 2018
Paul Daza; Photos by Leo Lopez, John Oranga, Ai de la Rosa, and Maria Pile
Wacky Santos, UAAP Season 81 MVP for Boys’ Swimming

With a medal haul of 12 golds and three bronzes, the Ateneo de Manila High School swim team (composed of boys from Ateneo Junior High School and Ateneo Senior High School) finished the UAAP Season 81 Swimming Championship boys’ division in third place, behind champion De La Salle Zobel and first runnerup University of Santo Tomas. Despite Ateneo’s second runnerup finish,  Atenean Phillip “Wacky” Santos of STEM/11-Tsuji was crowned MVP of the boys division, thanks to an individual medal haul of seven golds, three of which were record-breaking swims. Also winning multiple golds and setting multiple records at the competition was ASHS student Rian Tirol of GA/12-Evans, who won five golds and set new records in all three breaststroke events of the UAAP boys division. The Ateneo boys also scored bronze in the 200m medley relay (tying for 3rd place with UE) and the 800m freestyle relay.    
Here is the individual medal and record tally:
PHILIP "Wacky" SANTOS: seven golds (200m individual medley, 800m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 200m backstroke, 400m individual medley, 200m butterfly, 1500m freestyle). His three records were for the 200m backstroke, the 400m individual medley, and the 1500m freestyle.
RIAN TIROL: five golds (50m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke, 50m butterfly, 200m breaststroke, 4x100m medley relay). His records were in the 50m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke, and 200m breaststroke.    
JOSHUA VITANGCOL (ABM/12-Anchieta): bronze in 100m freestyle

Rian Tirol won 5 gold medals at UAAP 81 and established 3 records

(L-R) Gab de la Rosa, Charles Ticbaen, Rian Tirol and Joshua Vitangcol won gold in the 400m medley relay


Gabriel de la Rosa, Charles Ticbaen, Rian Tirol (GA/12-Evans), Joshua Vitangcol (ABM/12-Anchieta): GOLD, 400m medley relay
Gabriel de la Rosa (La Storta/9-Favre), Rafael Isip (Montserrat/9-Machado), Denzel Ballestar (STEM/11-San Vitores), Mikey Pile (La Storta/10-Gelabert): BRONZE (tied with UE), 200m medley relay
Jacob Balanag (La Storta/9-Fenwick), Mikey Pile, Ethan Inocencio (La Storta/9-Fenwick), Charles Ticbaen (La Storta/10-Gelabert): BRONZE, 800m freestyle relay  

(L-R) Rafael Isip, Gabriel de la Rosa, Mikey Pile and Denzel Ballestar won bronze in the 200m medley relay (Photo courtesy of Ai de la Rosa)

(L-R) Jacob Balanag, Mikey Pile, Ethan Inocencio, and Charles Ticbaen won bronze in the 800m freestyle relay
The boys were coached at the competition by Sherwin Dela Paz, Krystal Dela Cruz, and Gab Meneses. The UAAP Season 81 Swimming Championship was held from November 8-11, 2018 at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex in Manila.  

The Ateneo boys' swim team roster

University Athletics