Ateneo HS is 10-PEAT CHAMP of UAAP 77 Boys Swimming; Arellano is MVP, Viovicente is ROY!

October 08, 2014
Paul Daza; Photos by Bernie de Guzman & Max Austria

For the tenth consecutive year, Ateneo de Manila High School’s junior tankers swam straight to the top of the UAAP swimming championship for boys, clinching their 10th UAAP title in as many years in the games held from October 2 to 5, 2014 in the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex. Two Ateneans also won the two coveted individual awards in the junior boys division. Jolo Viovicente of 9C was named Rookie of the Year while Miggy Arellano of 11H was named Most Valuable Player.
Jolo Viovicente (9C), UAAP 77 Boys' division Rookie of the Year for swimming.

Miggy Arellano, MVP for boys' division of UAAP Season 77 swimming

During the four-day championship, the Ateneo junior tankers harvested 12 gold medals, eight silver medals, and eight bronze medals. Of the five relay events, the blue and white swimmers won first place in all five and established new UAAP boys records in two of them.
Here is the individual medal tally of the Ateneo HS swimmers:
MIGGY ARELLANO (11H)- MVP + six gold medals (200m butterfly, 1500m freestyle, 800m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 200m freestyle, 400m individual medley) and one bronze medal (100m butterfly)

JOLO VIOVICENTE  (12C) - Rookie of The Year + two silver medals (800m freestyle, 400m freestyle) and two bronze medals (1500m freestyle, 400m individual medley)
JOSHUA TALEON (10M)- four silver medals (200m individual medley, 50m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke, 200m breaststroke) and one bronze medal (100m backstroke).
AKI CARIÑO (10E) – one gold medal (200m backstroke), one silver medal (100m backstroke), and one bronze medal (50m backstroke).
ENRICO VIOVICENTE (10F)- one silver medal (1500m freestyle) and two bronze medals (800m freestyle, 200m butterfly)
VINCENT DY (12K)- one bronze medal (400m freestyle)

The results of the relay events are as follows:
4x50m medley relay: GOLD +RECORD- Aki Cariño (10E), Aga Olympia (12C), Joaquin Francisco (12B), and Marco Pile (12E)

4x100m medley relay: GOLD- Benzi Yang (11F), Aga Olympia (12C), Joaquin Francisco (12B), and Marco Pile (12E)

4x50m freestyle relay: GOLD- Marco Pile (12E), Johannes Sison (11D), Vince Martin (12M), and Joaquin Francisco (12B)

4x100m freestyle relay:  GOLD- David De Guzman (12M), Marco Pile (12E), Dave Fua (11N), and Martin Vince Martin (12M)
4x200m freestyle relay: GOLD + RECORD- David De Guzman (12M), Aki Cariño (10E), Vincent Dy (12K), and Enrico Viovicente (10F)

Also contributing to Ateneo High School’s points were Ceej Castillo (12L) and Sebastian Francisco (10H), who made it to the finals of their respective events. The AHS Swim Team finished the UAAP boys division championship with 544 points. In second place was UST with 318 points, followed by DLSZ in third place with 211 points.

The AHS Swim Team is coached by  Krystal dela Cruz and managed by Aldo Tong.