14 ASHS mathletes are PhIMO heat round medal awardees

July 06, 2021

Recent Ateneo de Manila Senior High School graduates Aaron Cacas (12-Navarro, salutatorian of the Class of 2021), Marion De Leon (12-Pro), AK Navarro (12-Navarro), and Kelgie Ong (12-Pantalia); and incoming grade 12 students Jimbo Bernardo (11-San Vitores), Chryss Bersabal (11-Realino), Kyle Xander Co (11-Perez), Marin De Leon (11-Realino), Mary June San Jose (11-Wright), Yahna Santos (11-Mayer), Marvin Tan (11-Perez), Marcus Tornea (11-Wright), Mikha Velez (11-Wright), and Harvey Allen Ylanan (11-Torres) emerged as medal awardees in the Philippine International Mathematical Olympiad (PhIMO) Heat Round, which was held online on April 18, 2021.
Leading them were gold awardees Jimbo Bernardo and Marvin Tan. Securing silver awards were sisters Marin De Leon and Marion De Leon. Bagging bronze awards were Chryss Bersabal, Aaron Cacas, Kyle Xander Co, AK Navarro, Kelgie Ong, Mary June San Jose, Yahna Santos, Marcus Tornea, Mikha Velez, and Harvey Allen Ylanan. The ASHS mathletes competed in the senior secondary division of the PhIMO heat round.

The PhIMO is the newest and most sophisticated international mathematics competition among kindergarten to grade 12 students. It is designed to honor the best learners in the world in mathematical problem-solving through friendly competition, and to foster cultural exchange among the participating countries. In its first year, the PhIMO heat round attracted more than a thousand participants from Australia, Bermuda, Cambodia, Canada, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Norway, Philippines, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, USA, and Vietnam.

The PhIMO heat round awarding ceremony was held online on May 1, 2021. The final round will be held in Davao this September.